CSA – Week 4

Standard

HOORAY! We conquered the never-ending pile of lettuce! After about a bojillion pounds of salad, we actually finished all of our CSA goodies from last week!

Well… all but 1. The cabbage is still sitting in the fridge. I’m not a huge fan and other family members are, so I left them in charge of it and… nothing has happened. I’ll yell at them a little more tomorrow to make sure it gets eaten πŸ™‚

I’m not sure if I mentioned this or not in my last post, but I made rhubarb ice cream! Using this recipe, I made the rhubarb sauce last night, then after work today, I added the milk and cream, mixed, and churned in the ice cream maker for a half hour or so, froze and had myself a delicious scoop of rhubarb ice cream topped with a bit of the red currant rhubarb jam I made the other day! It’s pretty tasty. Nothing spectacular, but definitely a good way to use up rhubarb and let’s face it, who doesn’t love ice cream?

Rhubarb ice cream with red currant rhubarb jam! Please note that I am NOT a food photographer πŸ˜‰

Now onto week 4! Oh, we got some goodies in the box this week! What’s in the box:

  • Sugar Snap Peas
  • Snow Peas
  • 2 bunches Swiss Chard
  • 1 bunch Beets
  • Broccoli
  • Green Beans
  • Onions
  • Raspberries
  • Mint
  • Cilantro
  • 1 dozen organic eggs from happy, totally free-range chickens! (as always)

My brother giving the CSA a big thumbs up this week!

So my family appreciates a nice, fresh, crispy pea. We got these suckers home and my mom dove right in and ate some. I had one of each, just to try ’em, and my brother had a few, too. My mom was so excited that she immediately sat at the table and started shelling the Sugar Snaps. She gave one to my 15-month-old nephew and he didn’t know really know what to do with it, so he walked it over to me and I said, “Oskar, it’s food! Yummy!” and made a motion to my mouth showing him to eat it. He shoved it in MY mouth… so we don’t know yet if he likes peas, but we shall find out!

As for the meal plan, it’s a good one! At least I’m excited about it…

  • Thursday – Salad Nicoise using the green beans, a few eggs
  • Friday – Pasta salad with Sugar Snap peas, bell pepper, onion, zucchini, tomatoes
  • Saturday – Potato-leek hash using some of the Swiss Chard & eggs (we’ve done this recipe before and it’s EXCELLENT)
  • Sunday – Sweet potato & black bean tacos with Swiss chard pesto (this is a new one, but I’m excited to try it!) This will use the other bunch of chard and some of the cilantro
  • Monday – Stir-fry using the snow peas, onions & broccoli

That’s what we have planned so far. I’m pretty excited about it! I think I may try to make this Beet Greens Pie, omitting the bacon and bread crumbs to make it vegetarian and gluten-free. It may turn into more of a frittata or something, but I want to try using the beet greens. No idea yet for the actual beets themselves. I’d LOVE a beet, goat cheese & arugula grilled cheese sandwich, but it’s just not the same with gluten-free bread. We’ll see.

The real question is what would you do with all that blasted mint? I’m not a huge fan. Last time we got some (like an eighth of what we got this time), my sister-in-law made mint ice cream and it wasn’t bad, but it was a little earthy. I just don’t know what to do with it… help?

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

