CSA – Week 3

Standard

Yay, CSA!

Unfortunately, it’s been so hot and dry here that some of the lettuce we’ve been getting has been a bit on the bitter side. I don’t mind too much, I just make a sweet dressing to throw on it 🙂 For instance, tonight I made a salad using some of the last of the lettuce from last week’s box. My salad had Bibb lettuce, garlic scapes, onion (from today’s box), feta, and blue cheese. I was going to toast some walnuts to put on there, but we didn’t have any. I made a honey mustard dressing with olive oil, honey, dijon mustard, salt, pepper, and a dash of white balsamic vinegar and it was delicious 🙂 My salad wasn’t much to look at since it was lots of green things that blended in, but it was pretty tasty!

Tonight’s salad with lots of camouflaged green veggies!

SO, you’re probably on the edge of your seat wondering what we got this week, am I right? Of course I’m right! Ha! Well, wait no longer. Drum roll, please…

This week’s box includes:

  • Eggs (as always, a dozen per week!)
  • Rhubarb – newsletter says this is the last of the rhubarb 😦
  • Garlic scapes – newsletter also says this is the last of these guys 😦
  • Small red/white onions
  • Medium red/white onions
  • Broccoli
  • Swiss chard
  • Cabbage
  • Red currants
  • The biggest head of Romaine lettuce I’ve ever seen

It’s so pretty! And a little less green and leafy this week!

So then, what are we going to do with this this week? Well, here’s the plan:

Thursday – BLTs & coleslaw – we’ll use up some of the lettuce on the sandwiches and the cabbage and some of the scapes will be turned into coleslaw. As the only vegetarian in the family, I might have my usual cheddar sandwich with lots of veggies. Or, since I’m (temporarily) gluten-free (to test for an allergy), I may use some of the HUGE lettuce leaves to make a lettuce wrap sandwich thing? We’ll see. I do have gluten-free bread I can use for a sandwich, but it’s SERIOUSLY not the same.

Friday – Stir-fry – We love a good stir-fry in our house. The broccoli will get used here as well as some of the scapes and onions. We’ll pick up some other veggies at the store (boo) and the meat-eaters will probably have some chicken or something in there. Ooo, maybe some rice noodles with a peanut-ginger sauce? YUM!

Saturday – Meal Salads – I like to call these “meal salads” because you say “salad” and many people think “wimpy” and “side dish”. Oh no. Salads can give you all the nutrition you need and be plenty filling. And with all the lettuce we have, everyone gets a salad (except my sister-in-law, who doesn’t like lettuce). We’ll grill up some chicken and that gives people the option to do Cobb, Greek, Caesar or anything else. I’ll probably have a big bed of lettuce with some fresh, Wisconsin cheddar (holla!), hard-boiled egg, tomato, maybe cucumber… we’ll see, but I’m sure it will be delish.

That’s as far as we’ve gotten. Sunday may be a celebration dinner since it will mark the end of a very busy 3 weeks for my mom (and me) at work. The other items in the box will be used in everyday stuff. The eggs get eaten for breakfast or hard-boiled for my 1-year-old nephew, any broccoli and scapes that don’t get used will be made into a salad with the Swiss chard (I saw this recipe and thought it looked good and saw some people suggest substituting chard for the kale called for).

As for the red currants and rhubarb… well, we have a special plan for them 🙂 A few years ago, my mom bought a small electric ice cream maker and it’s awesome. We’ve been using it lately to make frozen margarita slushies and my brother just made lemon sorbet. Well, I want to try my hand at a homemade honey vanilla ice cream with red currant rhubarb swirl. The swirl may be hard to pull off, but we can always just use it as a sauce on top. I’m ridiculously excited about it 🙂 Stay tuned for that craziness.

Otherwise, things are going along. The tomatoes are starting to set fruit and the pepper plants are flowering. Yay! My friend, Jenny, just got her first CSA box this week, so be sure to check in with her to see what she’s doing with her delicious produce!

2 responses »

  1. I like that you call them “meal salads.” I may steal this term. We eat salads as meals too and I happen to love that. Especially on hot days or after a weekend of heavy eating.

Leave a Reply

