It’s always something with this girl

Standard

As I mentioned in last night’s post, I took some Benydyrl last night. I slept really well, but was still having issues today with the itching and hives appearing and disappearing so I called the doctor. My doctor was unavailable but another doctor in the practice said he wanted to see me. Long story short, he doesn’t think it’s a reaction to the antibiotic, but he does think it’s an allergic reaction. He thinks it’s something I’ve been in contact with, like a new laundry detergent or deodorant or shampoo or whatever. I’ve seen this doctor one other time when my primary care doc was unavailable and I think this guy is probably a very fine doctor, but I think he’s a CYA (Cover Your Ass) kind of doctor. He wants me to really concentrate on everything I come in contact with and try to figure out what’s causing the reaction.

Listen, dude. Don’t you think I’ve already done that? The only things that have changed recently are the ending of the antibiotic and the reintroduction of gluten to my diet. It HAS to be one of those two things. Luckily, he still wrote me a prescription for some Prednisone to help clear up the reaction. He also wanted me to get an Epipen in case my breathing started to get compromised… yeah, right. Let me go spend $200 on something Imightneed, even though there’s only about a 1% chance I’ll need it. No thanks.

Anyway, I’m hoping I start feeling better soon. My mom and I are both pretty sure it’s the antibiotic, but I’m willing to entertain the possibility of the gluten causing this. We’ll just have to see. While I was in Madison to see the doctor, I did stop at the GF bakery and got myself some muffins, scones and a loaf of bread. I also got a donut to eat on the way home ’cause I felt I deserved one 🙂

Not everything was bad today. I did cross paths with my aunt, cousin and my cousin’s 2-week-old baby girl at the doctor’s office. I had no idea they even went to that clinic, but they came out as I was waiting, so I got to see them and to meet my cousin’s baby, Abigail. She was SO tiny and I’m convinced my nephew was never that small.

Ramble, ramble. I took the Prednisone, so I’ll probably be awake all night, but that’s okay, so long as I’m not scratching the whole night. I got 2 movies from Redbox (for FREE!), so I’ve got some entertainment for the next 2 days since I don’t have to work now until Sunday.

Work. That’s another blog post. It’s been crazy, but I think I’ll save that topic for another time. Perhaps tomorrow?

 

Leave a Reply

