No glutes?!

Standard

Well, yesterday was quite a day. Let’s start at the beginning, shall we?

Had an early-morning appointment with my Integrative Medicine Doctor yesterday. My primary care doc referred me ’cause I’ve been exhausted for about forever and I’ve had chronic sinus infections for almost 10 years now and no tests ever come back abnormal. My thyroid has been tested a bajillion times and it’s always “normal”. Anyway, this guy, Dr. Rakel, actually wrote the book on integrative medicine. Literally. He’s the co-author on the leading textbook for Integrative Medicine. Pretty cool, right?

So I went to see him for a follow-up appointment yesterday and we talked about a bunch of different things and he asked me about food allergies and sensitivities. I told him I’d tried a dairy-free diet twice because it had been mentioned in the past as a possible cause for my sinus infections. He asked about a gluten-free diet and I told him I haven’t tried that… yet. He explained to me how a gluten intolerance or sensitivity could be the cause of my sinus infections and how it all works, blah blah blah. He told me to give a gluten-free diet a try for a few weeks to see if it helps with my symptoms and I told him I would. No glutes for this girl for the next 2 weeks.

So today is day 1 with no gluten, which means tomorrow is going to suck. Apparently, your body goes through a withdrawal of sorts and on days 2 and 3, your symptoms tend to get worse. Fantastic.

I scheduled my appointment first-thing in the morning so that I might be a little late to work, but not much. Responsible and considerate, right? Tell that to my tire. When I came out of the doctor’s office and got to my car, I noticed my front driver’s side tire looked low. I had noticed a few days earlier that there was a ka-thunk, ka-thunk noise coming from that area, so I checked the tire and didn’t notice anything and the pressure was fine, so I went about my weekend. Unfortunately, when I checked my tire pressure outside the doctor’s office, it was less than half of what it should be and this time, I was able to see a big stupid screw cozily imbedded in my BRAND. NEW. TIRE.

>:-O !!!!!!

So I get on the phone and call the dealer where I got my tires to see if they could fix it for me and they couldn’t fit me in until that afternoon, so I made the appointment and called my dad and blah blah blah, long story short, I cancelled my appointment at the dealer and went to a Firestone at the mall (luckily only a mile-and-a-half away with a 30 MPH speed limit so I didn’t have to put my spare on, though I do know how!). I left my car there and went to the mall to waste my entire morning and part of my afternoon until I got a phone call. The screw was too close to the sidewall and they couldn’t patch it. I needed a new tire. Expletives were said. My dad was called. I got a another, ever-so-slightly newer tire and was on my way. Luckily, my mom is smart and asked me if I could get my old tire back from them to see if there was any possibility of it being fixed (the dealer said they’ve had success with some new technique or something), so I did get it back and eventually drove home. That evening, I showed it to my dad and he said  that HE could fix it! GRRRRRRRR. So now I have about a thousand brand new tires sitting around (well, okay, just one extra one).

I really hate being a young female because even though I do know more about cars than most girls (and boys) my age, I still tend to get taken advantage of and it pisses me off. What is it about young women that makes people think they can take advantage of them? Why can’t people just be honest with each other? It would make the world a much nicer place (with fewer tires).

Okay, that’s enough randomness about nothing for one day. Check back tomorrow for a gluten-free induced, rage-infused blog post about carbs and how much I miss them!

Leave a Reply

