Meeting Uncle Bob

Standard

It’s been a few very exciting months for my family.

Let me give a very brief summary of the events of the last two months:

My mother was adopted when she was three months old and a week ago, we found her biological family. Her birth mother is deceased and we aren’t sure who her father is, but we found her siblings (whether they are full siblings or half siblings is yet to be determined, but in birth order, there’s Judy, Sally, Don, (my mom), and Scott). She’s had a few long conversations with her older sister, Sally. She has yet to speak with her oldest sister, Judy, but we think they’re both just taking a little time to process things. Sally is currently living and working in Colorado until she retires in 13 months, but her husband still lives in Janesville, about 45 minutes from us.

Since Sally won’t be back in Wisconsin until July, arrangements were made for Bob and my mom to meet. Lucky for me I work with my mom, so I was there when she met her brother-in-law for the first time! My mom and I both sat down with Bob and talked for a few hours. It was so nice, yet so weird, to be getting to know him and his family -our family. As he said, “A half hour ago on the street, we would have walked right by each other, perfect strangers.”

Bob seems like a really great guy and I can’t wait to get to know him more and to meet the rest of my mom’s biological family! I now have an army of relatives I didn’t even know existed, including four more cousins!

I’ve been trying to decide just how much I should write in here about this journey. It’s not really my story to tell, it’s my mom’s. At the same time, it affects me and my interest in starting to blog again was so that I could have a record of my life that I can look back on. We’ll see, I may write more about things, I may not. I’m sure I’ll write more when my mom meets her other relatives for the first time.

For now, though, I’m off to lie in bed and watch Spongebob. I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather lately 😦

Leave a Reply

